Logging Exact Time

You may post here if you are having problems with Winlog32 that others may be able to help you with. You may also report bugs so that the author may act upon them.

Logging Exact Time

Postby dh7ku » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:55 pm

Dear All,

would it be possible to log the exact time including seconds? I'm in trouble with the QSO sequence if more than one contact is logged in the same minute. For label printing I use BV7 and the QSL status is copied for back using MS Access. It works only if the QSO sequence remains the same.

During the procedure the QSO data are exported in .adif format then imported in .bv7. After finishing the printing all the data have to be converted back, yet the QSO sequence is lost. I hpe that adif can deal with exact time including seconds as well, otherwise it does not help at all.

73 de Csaba, DH7KU
dh7ku
New user
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:39 pm
 

Re: Logging Exact Time

Postby G0CUZ » Tue Jan 30, 2018 4:42 pm

Unfortunately there is no provision for seconds in Winlog32 Time fields, the QSO are ordered by the QSONO field and unless I am mistaken will be exported in the correct order (as inputted into the log) even if same minute.

I am trying to understand how you import back into Winlog32 as would this not create duplicates in your log?

Have you considered exporting your QSO via the Print QSL window -"Export QSL List to external program" as this allows updating the log directly after the export, it has been such a long time since I added this function I'm not sure of what the short comings are with this, but may be worth a look.

73 Colin
G0CUZ
G0CUZ
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am
 

Re: Logging Exact Time

Postby dh7ku » Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:01 am

Dear Colin,

For the label printing software BV7 the log has to be exported as .adif then imported as .bv7. Several different log formats are supported, yet not Winlog32.

Unfortunately, .adif format does not support the QSO Number, so this information is lost.

I import back the adif data into an empty log then open with MS Access97 and copy the QSL In / Out column into the original log. It does not work properly due to the lost QSO order information. I had no better idea without programing efforts.

With the "Export QSL List to external program" I did not try. First I need to install a printer locally at the PC, then I will make a try.

At the moment I search the QSO in both programs, Winlog32 and BV7 and make double work for the sent QSL. It is quite a big effort in case of many QSL cards have been collected in the past several years. I'm not a frequent QSL-sender, hi.

73 de Csaba, DH7KU
dh7ku
New user
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:39 pm
 

Re: Logging Exact Time

Postby G0CUZ » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:50 pm

Thanks for the additional information Csaba.

Yes, I agree, your QSL printing exercise if very time consuming and you do not need this amount of trouble!

You really should investigate the QSL Label/Export option, as you say it does require a printer driver installed, but does not need a printer connected to the PC -just needs a driver installed.

The 'Export for external programs' does export in ADIF format so should be compatible with your other program, and after you have exported the QSO, there is an option to update the QSLOUT field automatically so no need to re-import QSO, if you can get this to work it will save a lot of time for you and with no loss of accuracy.

The QSO to be 'printed/exported' must have the QSLOUT field populated with "B" which will tag them for a QSL, this can be done at time of QSO entry, or if they are in response to an incoming QSL, but depends on your actual QSL'ng policy is.

If there is a QSL Manager involved for outgoing, you will need "QSL VIA XXXXXXX" added in Remarks, the export routine will pick this up.

73 Colin, G0CUZ
G0CUZ
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am
 

Re: Logging Exact Time

Postby dh7ku » Fri Feb 02, 2018 7:45 pm

Dear Colin,

I installed a printer driver and tried the "Export QSL List to external program" function.

Exactly that's it what I need, it's fantastic. Really impressed about.!

Thanks for the great support!

73 de Csaba, DH7KU
dh7ku
New user
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:39 pm
 
 

Return to Help and Support

cron