Alert callsigns

Discuss with others what you would like to see in later versions of Winlog32.
Post Reply
IT9PQJ
Bit of a boffin
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:06 pm

Alert callsigns

Post by IT9PQJ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

Hi Colin,

is there a way to add some other alert callsign string?

Image

Regards,
Nico

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

Alert callsigns

Post by G0CUZ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

Ciao Nico

You are looking for a lot of DX!

It may be possible to add more, each will add extra processing time to incoming spots, so it can not be many more, but what you want?

Maybe 3 more possibilities?

73 Colin
G0CUZ

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

Alert callsigns

Post by G0CUZ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

After checking, we only have space for two extra 'alert callsigns', that is 7 in all, so have added this for next version release.
73 Colin
G0CUZ

N5PHT
Keen user
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:06 am

Alert callsigns

Post by N5PHT » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

Sorry to be dense - but how do you get to the alerts screens? I looked in the dx cluster and other options but I am missing something.

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

Alert callsigns

Post by G0CUZ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

DXCluster window - toolbar options button #1.

Refer the initial picture TAB Alerts.

73 Colin
G0CUZ

IT9PQJ
Bit of a boffin
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:06 pm

Alert callsigns

Post by IT9PQJ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

quote:Originally posted by G0CUZ

Ciao Nico

You are looking for a lot of DX!

It may be possible to add more, each will add extra processing time to incoming spots, so it can not be many more, but what you want?

Maybe 3 more possibilities?

73 Colin
G0CUZ


Ciao Colin!

Yes, I'm a DX addict! HI HI.
Many thanks for taking into consideration my odd requests!
I'm using Winlog 5.8.9 which works pretty well. The only thing I still find a little weird is the "Move Rotator" button which does not turn into black when rotation stops.

By the way, I've noticed a problem with latest prefix update file regarding TX5D callsign (I could not get the antenna to rotate because of wrong Locator in the .mbd file, but I corrected it). How can I send corrected prefix.mbd files to you in order to share them with Winlog users by your updates ?

VY 73,
Nico

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

Alert callsigns

Post by G0CUZ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

Hi Nico

I have already taken care of the TX5D QTF problem, download the latest prefix update.

What rotator and interface are you using?

I am limited to testing the internal rotor interface with GS232A, GS323B and DCU-1 with their extended protocols, nothing else.

73 Colin
G0CUZ

IT9PQJ
Bit of a boffin
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:06 pm

Alert callsigns

Post by IT9PQJ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

Hi Colin!

Rotor is a Kenpro KR-450XL with ERCkit (rotor control device) and PstRotator (software).

OK, no problems.

73 ;-)

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

Alert callsigns

Post by G0CUZ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

OK Nico

The problem when working with an external software interface, is that you have limited or no control of their behaviour.

PSTRotator is very fine software indeed, but you may like to try the Winlog32 internal rotator control, it is basic compared to PST but it was designed and tested with ERC and a KR400RC, so should work well with your set-up.

You can also configure and expand the display with great circle maps etc.

73 Colin
G0CUZ

IT9PQJ
Bit of a boffin
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:06 pm

Alert callsigns

Post by IT9PQJ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:48 pm

quote:Originally posted by G0CUZ


After checking, we only have space for two extra 'alert callsigns', that is 7 in all, so have added this for next version release.
73 Colin
G0CUZ


I've seen they've been added... Many thanks Colin!

Post Reply