SQL ?

You may post here if you are having problems with Winlog32 that others may be able to help you with. You may also report bugs so that the author may act upon them.
Post Reply
IT9PQJ
Bit of a boffin
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:06 pm

SQL ?

Post by IT9PQJ » Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:52 am

Is there a way to run a search for country and/or prefix instead of callsign ?
Attachments
Immagine.jpg
Immagine.jpg (77.19 KiB) Viewed 1343 times

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

Re: SQL ?

Post by G0CUZ » Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:33 pm

For a prefix from the log use criteria G* in Callsign field (finds all G callsigns) this is not accurate for Countrries though so you need any of below....

For a country search from log, one method is:
Open DXCC database - in left side DXCC list, right-click required Country and select option "Lookup all *Country* in Log"
Search Page will list all QSO with that country.

There are other similar methods....
...in Log Page -again right-click Callsign and find all same countries as selected country.
...you can do same thing in DXCluster window.

See this link:

http://help.winlog32.co.uk/hlp_dxcc_dxcclogreport.aspx

You can also use the CODE field in the Search window (like your example) and enter Country code, you can find the relative 'code' for each country in either menu/Graph/Log DXCC Display or in menu/Graph/Log DXCC Band Display or in the DXCC database left country list.

73 Colin
G0CUZ

IT9PQJ
Bit of a boffin
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:06 pm

Re: SQL ?

Post by IT9PQJ » Fri Oct 07, 2016 7:47 pm

Thank you very much Colin. I'll try all of your suggestions. Anyhow my search aims to find, for example, all stations from Brazil worked on 6m SSB; or all stations from Africa worked on 6m any mode.
73

IT9PQJ
Bit of a boffin
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:06 pm

Re: SQL ?

Post by IT9PQJ » Sat Oct 08, 2016 3:31 pm

OK, tried and understood how to do with a particular Country. Many many thanks!
Is there a way to do the same thing with a Continent?

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

Re: SQL ?

Post by G0CUZ » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:26 pm

Hi Nico

Selecting all countries in a Continent from the log would be very difficult, as Winlog32 does not store this information in the Log,, but processes this information 'on-the-fly' during logging.

It is not impossible but really too much work as you would have a really BIG query and manually include each and every entity code from that continent, I think it is not practical!

You would need to include in the SQL ' ... WHERE CODE = 233 OR CODE =248 OR CODE = ... and so on" (this would find all England and Italy QSO - it's a start hi) You can use as many SQL operators as you wish ('AND' 'OR' 'NOT' etc)

IN SQL -to find all England on 6m "Select * FROM LOG where CODE = 233 AND BAND Between 50 AND 52 Order by Callsign" -you can expand this simple example how you wish, the above SQL is similar to that used in existing DXCC Display windows for filtering the log data but perhaps you like experimenting with SQL Language?

73 Colin
G0CUZ

IT9PQJ
Bit of a boffin
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:06 pm

Re: SQL ?

Post by IT9PQJ » Fri Nov 11, 2016 5:54 pm

Hi Colin,
it does not show the QSO in the picture (which self-explanatory).


Image

How could it be solved?

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

Re: SQL ?

Post by G0CUZ » Sat Nov 12, 2016 9:59 pm

[quote="IT9PQJ"][size=150]Hi Colin,
it does not show the QSO in the picture (which self-explanatory). [/size]

[size=150]How could it be solved?[/size][/quote]

Hi Nico

In the actual SQL QUERY (white) window above, manually change the last part like this

... Band between 14 and 14

Should work good, but there are much easier ways to get this information from Winlog32 existing functions like mentioned before.

73 Colin
G0CUZ

IT9PQJ
Bit of a boffin
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:06 pm

Re: SQL ?

Post by IT9PQJ » Sun Nov 13, 2016 11:44 am

Yes Colin, like this

SELECT * FROM LOG WHERE Callsign LIKE 'zs6ub' AND Band between 14 and 14.35

it works!

Thank you!

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

Re: SQL ?

Post by G0CUZ » Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:06 pm

hi Nico


Yes, I am sorry, there was a typo in my reply "between 14 and 14 ", hi hi.
Should have been 14 to 15 - but you have it all OK 14 to 14.350 will work fine, but for appropriate decimal character e.g. "," or "." for any fraction according to Windows number format.

In SQL window, you can also 'sort' the return results like this "...between 14 and 15 ORDER BY Band, Mode"

73 Colin
G0CUZ

Post Reply