KX3

Discuss with others what you would like to see in later versions of Winlog32.
Post Reply
F5LCI
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 9:42 pm

KX3

Post by F5LCI » Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:24 pm

Hi all (and season's greetings).
I am using my Elecraft KX3 (also have a K2) and wonder if there are any differences with the "K3" settings ?
The "Initialise" button works only ...sometimes.
Any info on this setup is welcome.

Winlog32 is launched via LPB2, which gives me access to NaP3 (working flawlessly), and soon Fldigi, WSJT-X, WSPR.
72 de Jean-Marc, F5LCI

M0PCB
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:25 am

KX3

Post by M0PCB » Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:24 pm

I found that with my KX3 connected and the K3 settings that the frequency display showed VFOB in Winlog32 rather than VFOA.

I don't think there are any major differences in the CAT commands, but what differences there are a subtle and seemingly affect some functions. :-)

Looking forward to v6, been using Winlog32 here for around 12 years, still the best logging program I can find. Keep up the good work Colin.

73, Iain M0PCB

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

KX3

Post by G0CUZ » Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:24 pm

Try setting rig type to TS850 instead of K2.

Kenwood use same protocol but some difference with initialising the Auto-info command.

73 Colin

M0PCB
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:25 am

KX3

Post by M0PCB » Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:24 pm

Interestingly I tried my KX3 using the K2 settings and everything works fine, in terms of the main frequency read-back is that of VFOA and not VFOB.

Just about to install the new version, thanks for your ongoing support Colin. :-)

73, Iain M0PCB

G0CUZ
Site Admin
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:12 am

KX3

Post by G0CUZ » Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:24 pm

I did find that 'K3' type was not enabled correct in Kenwood RCW #2 although this was OK in Kenwood RCW #1, this would mean that KX3 or K3 would not be correct when K3 selected in RCW#2 (although it would be OK in RCW#1)

It would explain some of the differences guys are having with K3 or KX3.

So best bet until it is fixed is to select K2.

73 Colin
G0CUZ

Post Reply